## **MSU RETIREES ASSOCIATION**

## ANNUAL MEETING

## MAY 7, 2019

## **UNIVERSITY CLUB**

More than 125 people were in attendance. A delicious lunch was served.

Provost June Youatt spoke to the group after lunch and shared positive steps MSU has taken to provide a safer campus as well as infrastructure progress. She encouraged retirees to continue to be a part of the MSU community by volunteering and attending campus events.

Angela Brown received the MSURA Volunteer of the Year Award. The award was presented by Jacqueline Babcock who chaired the committee. Committee members included Roger Baldwin, Patrick Scheetz and Ron Smith.

Board Members elected for the Association are as follows:

- 1 year term as President, Roger Baldwin
- 1 year term as Vice President, Rick Vogt
- 2 year term as Secretary, Jacqueline Babcock
- 2 year term as Treasurer, Dave Brower
- 2 year term as At-Large Board Member, William Anderson
- 2 year term as At-Large Board Member, Michael Gardner

The MSURA membership approved the following change in the bylaws. This change was made to be more specific as to which summer months the board does not meet Section 2.3 Meetings. The Board of Directors shall meet monthly except in June, July and August, and at the call of the President. Although most meetings should be open, the Board of Directors may hold a closed meeting at its discretion.

This year's MSU Retirees Association Student Scholarship Recipients, Amanda Pohl and Kathleen Wahl, were announced. Amanda Pohl, who has maintained a 4.0 GPA for the last three years, received the scholarship for her senior year. Amanda is looking forward to graduating next year with a degree in Kinesiology and continuing her education for a Master's in Physical Therapy. Kathleen Wahl, a senior at Northwest High School in Jackson, is planning on pursuing a degree in Speech Pathology at MSU.

Minutes submitted by Jacqueline Babcock

Secretary